Vertical Détour: Conference-performance

Vertical Détour: Conference-performance

A theatre company founded by performer Frédéric Ferrer, Vertical Détour creates conference-performances – a hybrid genre that overlays the theatre and the conference room. I had the decided pleasure of speaking to Frédéric Ferrer about how he puts his shows together,...

Data Music

Matthew Burtner “Auksalaq” music Thanks to an excellent LASER talk last week, I’m feeling inspired by music. Musicians too, have been converting data into composition and performance. This is, of course, data performance, at least when it is performed live, and would...
Birdie

Birdie

Centre stage, a procession of 2000 tiny models of babies and animals looping across an expanse of green carpet. Stage left, a tech table with computers on it. On the upstage end of the table sits a person in a red hoody with their back to us. Stage right, another...
And we’re off!

And we’re off!

It’s my first week of working full time on data theatre, though “working” really isn’t the right word for indulging your obsessive interest in something downright fascinating. I still get that sneaky-guilty “this is not what I’m supposed to be doing” feeling...

Vertical Détour : spectacle-conférence

Vertical Détour : spectacle-conférence

Une compagnie théâtrale, fondée par comédien Frédéric Ferrer, qui créé des spectacle-conférences, ce phénomène qui nous projete simultanément dans un théâtre et dans une salle de conférence. J’avais le privilège de parler avec Frédéric Ferrer, et de lui demander...

Musique des données

Matthew Burtner “Auksalaq” Grâce à une rencontre LASER la semaine dernière, j’ai trouvé une nouvelle inspiration dans la musique. Les musiciens, eux aussi, sont en train de transformer les données en compositions et en concerts. Ce sont, bien sûr, des « data...
Birdie

Birdie

Au centre, une procession de 2000 petits modèles des bébés et des animaux traverse un grand tapis vert. Côté cour, une table pour le technicien vidéo. Sur la table, en arrière-scène, une personne en hoody rouge est assise. Côté jardin, sur une deuxième table, des...
C’est parti !

C’est parti !

C’est la première semaine de travail à temps plein sur data theatre – sauf que « travail » n’est pas un mot adapté pour l’indulgence d’un intérêt obsessif pour un sujet fascinant. Quand je me perds dans les recherches en ligne, j’ai parfois un sentiment...